NH State Government Overview

New Hampshire Government Site Index

New Hampshire has three branches of government.

The Legislative Branch, know as the General Court, is composed of the state senators and representatives

There are 400 Representatives and 24 Senators, (serve for 2 year terms) making the General Court the second largest legislature in the United States following the U.S. Congress.

The Executive Branch includes the Governor, Executive Councilors and State Agencies

This branch enacts and enforces the laws of the state.

The Judicial Branch is made up of the courts.

The courts interpret the laws passed by the legislature. The courts make decisions regarding what the law means and how it should be applied.

#atkinson #plaistow #nhpolitics #nhdems #nhtogether